Om Shanti Om (2007)

Release Date: 9 November 2007

Directed by: Farah Khan

Country: India

This romantic musical is about hero Om Prakesh who falls in love with the famous movie superstar Shanti Priya. He then witnesses her murder by chance but failed to rescue her, dying the process and when reincarnated into Om Kapoor (O.K.), he decides to avenge Shanti’s death.

When I watched the film, I felt that the cinematography was somewhat different from what I’m used to. There were many close ups that showed only a partial of the actor/actress face, perhaps this is a Bollywood style of filming?

On the other hand, I loved the title of the movie, it felt to me like a key symbol of the plot and storyline of Om Shanti Om. The movie that centered around Shanti’s death and Om Prakesh who loved her but failed to protect her and our reincarnated Om Kapoor who swears vengeance. Hence “Om Shanti Om”.

Even though this film is supposedly a Bollywood film to reflect Indian culture, I was unsure of how to feel when they tried to incorporate english terms or slang inside the movie. My initial thought was that perhaps they were trying to appeal to international audiences but further research showed that India had two official language – English and Hindi – so that might not be the case.

This brings me to my next point on reincarnation, the key turning point in the movie, a hinduism and buddhism belief. In the case of this movie, Om Prakesh is reincarnated into Om Kapoor. Funnily enough, they share the same name “Om” and the “Om” tattoo in his previous life surfaces as a birthmark/scar in his new body.

Overall, Om Shanti Om was a beautiful film and really refreshing movie. I have to confess that this is my first Indian film and I had my doubts before I started watching it but it turned out to be pretty interesting, albeit a little lengthy. If other Bollywood films are as good as this, I wouldn’t mind watching more.

Leave a Reply

